2/22/18 Scrum

The first time I heard about scrum I thought it was going to be a hassle and a bunch of unnecessary meetings (I still think there are a bunch of unnecessary meetings). However I have come to think that scrum is very helpful to get in a very productive workflow, to work in a team and to keep on track. I will point out a few of the things that have helped me personally and why.

Sprint plannings have helped me be more organized. Before scrum I would never keep my work in track or in order, because I tend to go from the things I want to do to the things I don’t want to do, instead of prioritizing what we actually need. I also usually forget what I am supposed to do. Sprint plannings help keep everything in schedule and it forces me to work on things we need not only on things I want to do.

Product backlogs give me a sense of what we need to do, every little thing we have to take in account, and how much time we have to do it, basically a bigger picture. Otherwise I would probably overlook stuff when planning and thus having a lot of little things to do later or not using the time wisely.

Sprint reviews have helped me see our progress. Sometimes I get frustrated because I start thinking how much work I have done and it feels like we are not doing any progress. But with the reviews everything comes together every week and I feel accomplished and inspired to work again the next sprint.

Finally, it has made me be a better team member. Seeing the product backlogs of my teammates hives me a sense of what they also need to do and helps me understand what they are going through. I feel like I can help better in any way I can. Plus I can see what will need to be done and thus prepare for it and learn.

Scrum might be several unnecessary meetings, however it gives me lots of organization, planning and the progress overview I need to keep working. It is very useful!

screenshot
A bit of our sprint planning of this week

 

Ana Laura Martinez

Published by

analauragamedesign

Graphics

3 thoughts on “2/22/18 Scrum”

  1. Heya!
    I think you made a very clear and structured post about scrum and how it affects you. I like how you divided it into short paragraphs, it gives the reader a nice overview. I can agree on many things that you wrote, like how you get more organised and how you better can follow your progress through scrum, it’s pretty much the same for me! It’s good that you mentioned how you used to work before scrum and how it changed and affected your workflow, that explains why scrum is a good work tool for you and your team.  

    Even though we all should know what scrum and a sprint is by now, maybe you should have given it a short explanation? Like, what is scrum, a backlog, when do you have the sprint, how long is it and so on. Just like two sentences or so. 

    Other than that, you have explained how and why scrum affects your work and development and why you find it useful. Good job! ^-^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment